Gov Sani nominates ex Kaduna Speaker, 13 others as Commissioners

… appoints 3 agencies heads, six SSAs

By, Amos Ebute Mathew, Kaduna

Former speaker, Kaduna State House of Assembly, Hon. Abdullahi Aminu Shagali and the Director General, APC gubernatorial campaign for Kaduna state, Prof. Muhammad Sani Bello topped the list of Governor Uba Sani’s commissioner nominees.

Shagali, who was the Speaker of Kaduna State House of Assembly in 2015 and was later replaced by Hon. Yusuf Zailani, is the Director General, Progressives Governors Forum, Abuja.

The list of 14 nominees for the state cabinet, sent by Governor Sani to the Kaduna State House of Assembly for screening, also included immediate past Commissioner for local government and chieftaincy affairs, Hajiya Umma Kaltume Ahmed and the immediate past Accountant General of Kaduna State, Mrs Shizzer Joy Bada.

Other commissioner nominees for the Kaduna Assembly screening, which started on Tuesday, are immediate past permanent Secretary, Kaduna state ministry of works, housing and transport, Malam Murtala Mohammed Dabo and a staunch member of the APC Kaduna state governorship campaign council and former chairman of Kaduna North local government, Hon. Sadiq Mamman Lagos.

The 14-man list includes four women; Umma, Shizzer, Hajia Rabi Salisu and Patience Fakai.

Also included are Malam Sule Shaibu, Mukhtar Ahmed, Arch. Ibrahim Hamza, Auwal Musa Shugaba, Prof. Benjamin Kumai Gugong and Abubakar Buba.

They are expected to be inaugurated later this week once their screening have been concluded.

In a related development, the Governor also approved the appointment of six Senior Special Assistants (SSA) and and three heads of agencies.

This was contained in a statement by the Governor’s spokesperson, Muhammad Lawal Shehu, on Tuesday.

The appointees include Salisu Ibrahim Garba as Senior Special Assistant for Political Matters, Larai Sylvia Ishaku as Senior Special Assistant for the Social Investment Programme, Waziri Garba as Senior Special Assistant for Administration, and Clement Shekogaza Wasah as Senior Special Assistant for Community Engagement.

Shehu said Governor Sani chose these individuals for their respective roles based on their proven track records and commitment to the service of Kaduna State.

“The appointments are based on the proven track records of the appointees, their commitment to the service of Kaduna State, and the SUSTAIN Agenda of the current administration. They are also people of proven integrity,” Shehu said.

Additionally, Mohammad Sada Jalal has been appointed as the Director General of the Kaduna Geographic Information Service (KADGIS), while Jerry Adams has been named the Acting Executive Chairman of the Kaduna Internal Revenue Service (KADIRS), pending the appointment of a substantive Executive Chairman.

Other key appointments include Adamu Magaji, who will serve as the Director General for Kaduna State Facility Management Agency (KADFAMA), Adamu Samaila, who will take on the responsibility of Special Adviser for Labour Matters, and Amina Sani Bello, who has been appointed as the Senior Special Assistant for Student Matters.

According to Shehu, Governor Sani urged the new appointees to develop comprehensive strategies and operational plans to guide the successful implementation of programmes and projects within their designated areas of responsibility.

He added that the appointments would take immediate effect.